Honors in the Major Scholarship Information

Each academic college at UCF (Arts and Humanities, Business Administration, Education, Engineering and Computer Science, Health and Public Affairs, Hospitality Management, Medicine, Nursing, the Office of Undergraduate Studies, and Sciences), and the Cocoa, Daytona Beach, Palm Bay, and Western regional campuses offer a limited number of $1,000 scholarships on a competitive basis to students pursuing Honors in the Major during the Fall and Spring semesters. Students are encouraged to contact the HIM Coordinator of his or her college or campus about the application process and deadlines. In order to be eligible for the Honors in the Major scholarship, students must:

  • Be enrolled in Honors in the Major coursework (Honors Directed Readings or Thesis) in the semester that the student applies for the scholarship
  • Not been awarded an Honors in the Major scholarship in a previous semester
  • Must be working on his or her thesis (i.e. thesis has not been completed and submitted to the UCF library for publication)

 

An Honors in the Major student may only be awarded the scholarship once. If an Honors in the Major student receives the Honors in the Major Scholarship but does not complete the program, the student will be required to repay this award. Failure to repay the scholarship in this instance will result in a hold on his or her academic record.

The deadline for applying to the Honors in the Major Scholarship for Spring 2017 is February 17, 2017. Please contact your coordinator if you have questions about applying for the scholarship. 

2017-2018 Honors in the Major Scholarship Representatives: 

Burnett School of Biomedical Sciences:  Dr. Kenneth Teter, Kenneth.Teter@ucf.edu  
College of Arts & Humanities: Dr. Martha Garcia,  Martha.Garcia@ucf.edu    
College of Business Administration: Dr. Walter Milon, wmilon@bus.ucf.edu     
College of Education and Human Performance: Dr. Sherron Roberts, Sherron.Roberts@ucf.edu  
College of Engineering and Computer Science: Dr. Charles Reilly, Reilly@ucf.edu  
College of Health and Public Affairs: Dr. David Mitchell, David.mitchell@ucf.edu 
College of Nursing: Dr. Victoria Loerzel, Victoria.Loerzel@ucf.edu  
College of Sciences: Dr. Bruce Wilson, Bruce.Wilson@ucf.edu   
Rosen College of Hospitality Management: Dr. Hyung Jung, Hyung.Jung@ucf.edu  
Daytona Area Campus: Dr. Steven Berman, Steven.Berman@ucf.edu  
Cocoa Area Campus: Dr. Barbara Kinsey, Barbara.Kinsey@ucf.edu
Palm Bay Area Campus: Dr. Shannon Whitten, Shannon.Whitten@ucf.edu  
Western Regional Area Campuses:  Dr. Roberta Ergle, roberta.ergle@ucf.edu

The Honors in the Major scholarship is only offered during the Fall and Spring semesters.